Allen Named Semifinalist for George Munger College Coach of the Year Award

(IU Athletics image)

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana head football coach Tom Allen is one of 22 semifinalists for the George Munger College Coach of the Year Award, Maxwell Football Club President, Mark Dianno, announced on Wednesday afternoon. The list includes a field of 22 candidates for the award who have been selected by the MFC National Selection Committee. All semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order by school:

2019 George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Semifinalists Troy CalhounAir ForceEli DrinkwitzAppalachian StateMatt RhuleBaylorBryan HarsinBoise StateJim McElwainCentral MichiganLuke FickellCincinnatiDabo SwinneyClemsonDan MullenFloridaKirby SmartGeorgiaTom AllenIndianaScott SatterfieldLouisvilleEd OrgeronLSUMike NorvellMemphisP.J. FleckMinnesotaKen NiumataloloNavyRyan DayOhio StateLincoln RileyOklahomaMario CristobalOregonJames FranklinPenn StateRocky LongSan Diego StateSonny DykesSMUKyle WhittinghamUtah

Allen has led the Hoosiers to a 7-3 record and a 4-3 Big Ten mark. On Nov. 10, Indiana entered the Associated Press Poll (No. 24) for the first time since Sept. 20, 1994, and the Amway Coaches Poll (No. 25) for the first time since Oct. 17, 1994. IU has clinched its first winning season since 2007 (7-6) and has won seven games for just the 13th time in program history. The Hoosiers own five eight-win (1993, 1988, 1987, 1979, 1905) and two nine-win (1967, 1945) campaigns. Indiana's 7-3 record is tied for the fourth-best mark in program history through 10 games (1942, 1944, 1979, 1987, 1993). The 1905 (8-1-1), 1945 (9-0-1) and 1967 (9-1) teams hold the Top-3 spots. IU's four-game conference winning streak was snapped at No. 9 Penn State last weekend. It marked its longest such streak since 1993 and shared the second-longest in school history, behind the 1967 team's five-straight victories.

Semifinalist voting for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin on Thursday Nov. 21, and close on Sunday, Dec. 8. The finalist round will include the top three coaches as selected in the semifinalist round. Finalist voting will open Dec. 9, and run until Dec. 27. The winner will be announced Dec. 29. The formal presentation of the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club's National Awards Gala on Friday, March 6, 2020, at the Tropicana Resort in Atlantic City, N.J. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. Jeff Monken of Army-West Point was the 2018 winner of the award.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All