BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana associate head coach Kalen DeBoer is one of 41 nominees for the 2019 Broyles Award, the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announced on Wednesday afternoon. The award honors college football's top assistant coaches. He is IU's third Broyles Award nominee in four years, joining Tom Allen (2016) and Mike Hart (2018). DeBoer, who also serves as offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach, joined the program in the offseason and has been instrumental in its 7-2 record. The Hoosiers are bowl eligible for the third time in five years and clinched their first winning season since 2007. Indiana is first in the Big Ten in pass offense (308.0, 15th nationally), second in total offense (446.4, 34th), sacks allowed (1.44, 26th), completion percentage (69.6, 8th), first downs (24.2, 20th) and time of possession (34:06, 7th), third in pass yards per attempt (8.4, T-20th) and pass efficiency (156.2, 18th), tied for third in turnovers lost (10, T-23rd), fourth in third-down conversions (46.7, 21st), and fifth in pass touchdowns (20, T-30th) and scoring offense (34.0, 34th). The 2019 offense has improved at least 45 spots in the national rankings from 2018 in time of possession (+87), average yards per pass (+87), red zone touchdowns (+71), 20-yard passing plays (+68), points per game (+54), 20-yard scrimmage plays (+50), red zone scoring (+46) and total touchdowns (+45). IU has reached 30 points eight times in its first nine games, a program record, and in six-straight games, which shares a program record. The eight 30-point games are tied for the second-most in school single-season history (1988, 2007, 2013) behind the 2015 Hoosiers (9). Sixteen Hoosiers have caught a pass, 12 have recorded a rush and 13 have reached the end zone in DeBoer's multiple attack. Tight ends have combined for 38 catches for 454 yards and five touchdowns, while the running backs have caught 38 for 315 yards with two TDs. In 2018, tight ends brought in 21 balls for 232 yards and two scores, while backs added 45 receptions for 227 yards and a pair of touchdowns in 12 games. Indiana (5) and Washington State (6) are the only two FBS teams with five pass-catchers with 20-plus receptions and 350-plus yards. A 20-member selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters, and a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semifinalists and five finalists from the list of nominees and an overall winner. Those finalists will be invited to travel to Little Rock, Ark., where the 2019 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, Dec. 10, at the Marriott Hotel. The winner of the 2018 Broyles Award was Mike Locksley, Offensive Coordinator at Alabama. Winners from the past five seasons are not eligible to be nominated for the Broyles Award. Proceeds from the 2019 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide a game plan through education, support, and resources to Alzheimer's caregivers. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on and Twitter and Instagram. About the Broyles Award The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles' legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his hall of fame career as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All